top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 165

POEM TITLE

The Lobster Pot

POEM

I chase a grey ghost ‘cross this cold, lonely isle

We sweep ‘round each other like strange silhouettes

I stop at this pub to crack open a smile

The patrons wash ‘way the sting of regret


Full up with lobster, cross down to the shore

The pebbling silence filled just by the crash

I see your face arc like a smooth silver claw

Then shatter to bits in a sea-foaming slash


But I keep looking harder, feet wet and sore

The beauty of Blackness draws in like a light

My moth wings are soaked but I scour like a boar

For my beacon of safety among jagged delights


It’s what I come back to in Blackness on Sea

A building that’s shaped by its warmth in the dark

I walk back through the door and I feel something change

Like a wet dog shocked by the strength of a spark


And I see the ghost waiting, like she’s there just for me

Hands folded and neat like the decade before

When we dined, spinning tales and fat full of glee

The same lovely lady that I’d gone and fell for


And I’m still there today, at my table for one

After asking the bar ‘bout the catch of the day

My lady smiles back as I sit in the sun

And pore over the sight of a bronze cod filet

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shortlist Announcement

The Judges have now produced the shortlist of the 12 poems going forward to the final announcement of the winners at the presentation on Friday 4th November at the Lobster Pot. People are expected to

Poem N. 271

Cats & Dugs Doon Blackness brae, thon castle, a big stane ship smirred in mist, slate-grey Firth snarlin at her knees. We could’ve happed-up, gallus agin the hurlin rain, or, stayed in the motor, hypn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page