top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 180, 181, 182 and 183

POEM TITLE

Blackness: The Prison and the Pit.

POEM

Dear Lady, please don’t be concerned for these

Poor wretches in the pit; though foul disease

Discomfort them and blight their worthless souls,

It is their lot to rot in stinking holes

Because of what they’ve done. They are the scum

Of the Earth; some are vile traitors and some

Have disrespected property or killed

Innocent victims on a whim; they’re wild

And quite beyond rehabilitation.


I do understand your consternation

But believe me they are not worth your care;

They lie there and twitch, like rats in a lair;

Two times each day they are washed by the sea

But nothing can cleanse their iniquity.


In that stem of the ship that never sets

Sail, they cower like slaves; please do not fret,

Life is cheap to these dogs, so let them lie,

Let them howl, let them weep, let them die – aye

Let them proceed to the torments of hell;

We’ll then see in which pit they’d rather dwell.


Our hearts must be hard and deaf to their pleas,

Cold as the swell of the unending seas,

Aloof as a king on exalted throne,

Hard as the black basalt, sharp jutting stone

That they have as their bed; fixed as the law,

Free from concern as a predator’s claw,

Firm as authority, stiff as the dead.


Life is secured by a very fine thread,

This we should know and remember it well

When we choose to do wrong; and truth to tell,

For justice to work we depend on fear

And few things can make the heart quail, my dear

Lady, than the thought of being immured

Down there – now, shall we proceed with the tour?


And after that, Lady, we may repair

To a hostel nearby that is quite fine

And goes by the name of The Lobster Pot;

Where smells from the kitchen enrich the air

And where we can take our repose and dine

While comfort and laughter and sparkling wine

Will soothe your concerns and help you forget

The cries of those souls who rot in the pit.


POEM TITLE

The Lobster Pot

POEM

The Lobster Pot


I saw three bridges and I crossed the Forth

On the back of a wandering whale

My clinker built craft

Had been split fore and aft

By a slap of its slippery tail.


I feared for my life, for the coast of Fife

Was further than I could reach;

I was starting to weep

When up from the deep

That mischievous whale did breach.


Lifting me high, he winked with his eye

And flicking his tail headed south;

I clung to his back

And my grip was not slack,

For I feared to slip into his mouth.


A goggling guillemot glided above

And gave an incredulous shriek;

He gazed in surprise

Not believing his eyes

And his lunch fell out of his beak.


A glistening mermaid swam alongside

And cheekily blew me a kiss;

She shouted ‘Ahoy

You strange sailor boy –

I’ll buy you a drink at Blackness!


At the old Lobster Pot they’ve got such a lot

Of nicknacks and curious gear;

They serve tea and scones

And mussels and prawns

And rum and whisky and beer.


All round the walls and hanging from beams

Are seashells, buoys and floats,

Capstans and wheels,

Anchors and creels

And paintings and models of boats.


There’s even a couple of mermaids there

Which makes me to feel at home;

It’s the best place to be

When you can’t be at sea

Scudding along on the foam.’


So side by side we sat by the tide

That glittering mermaid and me;

We chatted and laughed

As a few rums we quaffed,

On that shore by the shimmering sea.


At length when the sun sank low in the west

And the day was no longer hot,

The mermaid and I

Said out goodbyes

At Blackness by the old Lobster Pot.


I will always remember the hours that I spent

With that lass from the watery main;

She had me beguiled

With her laugh and her smile,

Maybe one day I’ll meet her again.


POEM TITLE

The Lobster Pot (revised)

POEM

The Lobster Pot


I saw three bridges and I crossed the Forth

On the back of a wandering whale

My clinker built craft

Had been split fore and aft

By a slap of its slippery tail.


I feared for my life, for the coast of Fife

Was further than I could reach;

I was starting to weep

When up from the deep

That mischievous whale did breach.


Lifting me high, he winked with his eye

And flicking his tail headed south;

I clung to his back

And my grip was not slack,

For I feared to slip into his mouth.


A goggling guillemot glided above

And gave an incredulous shriek;

He gazed in surprise

Not believing his eyes

And his lunch fell out of his beak.


A glistening mermaid swam alongside

And cheekily blew me a kiss;

She shouted ‘Ahoy

You strange sailor boy –

I’ll buy you a drink at Blackness!


At the old Lobster Pot they’ve got such a lot

Of nicknacks and curious gear;

They serve tea and scones

And mussels and prawns

And rum and whisky and beer.


All round the walls and hanging from beams

Are seashells, buoys and floats,

Capstans and wheels,

Anchors and creels

And paintings and models of boats.


There’s even a couple of mermaids there

Which makes me feel at home;

It’s the best place to be

When you can’t be at sea

Scudding along on the foam.


So side by side we sat by the tide

That glittering mermaid and me;

We chatted and laughed

As a few rums we quaffed,

On that shore by the shimmering sea.


At length when the sun sank low in the west

And the day was no longer hot,

The mermaid and I

Said out goodbyes

At Blackness by the old Lobster Pot.


I will always remember the hours that I spent

With that lass from the watery main;

She had me beguiled

With her laugh and her smile,

Maybe one day I’ll meet her again.



POEM TITLE

A Banquet Fit for a King

POEM

A Banquet Fit for a King

(James IV visit to Blackness Castle 1506)


Such a fine banquet has never been seen

At Blackness Castle before

We served the king well

He was pleased I could tell

Both he and the Queen

Enjoyed our cuisine

And I hope they will visit us more.


For numerous days before the feast

We sent folk out – both west and east

Far and wide on errands they roamed,

The countryside like a horse tail was combed

They foraged and gathered from hedgerow and moor

From forest and valley, from field and from shore;

The finest porkers and kye were brought

By tether and hoof; and birds were bought.

The King’s rabbit warrens were practically emptied

And all the plump doves that could easily be tempted

Were grabbed in the castle dovecot.


The fishermen all put on their warm coats

And took to the Forth – a flotilla of boats

With their nets and their pots

And their lines and their floats

To bring the sea’s bounty to shore.

And so our small army

Went out on its journey

Whether the weather was fair or was stormy

To stockpile our kitchen and store.


The cooks did us proud

For it tested their skill

With cauldron and grill

With fires well lit

Under oven and spit

In the kitchen so hot

Full of steam from each pot

All to fill such a bill

That in other days might have been thought

Overkill.

I can picture it yet

The fret and upset

And the turnbrochie’s sweat

Which was less from the heat

Than the master cook’s threat

But all in the end came right and complete.


The feast we laid out

Was, without any doubt

Fit for a King and a Queen,

The tables were groaning under the weight

Of many a bowl and many a plate,

Platters and trays and turrines.

There was lobster and ling

And dark smoked herring

And oysters and cockles and prawns,

For the sea brings her bounty right to our door

And we harvest it well

On the tide and the swell;


But for this feast we had so much more –

There was oven-baked swan

With its feathers stuck on

We had honey-roast quails

And slow-cooked ox-tails

Fancies and fritters and fruits,

A spit-roasted pig

With a cute cabbage wig

And its piglets were puddings in cloots.


There were pastries and pies

Of various sizes

And one was a tart

In the shape of Blackness

A pure work of art

But the idea was mine I confess;


A fine calf’s head

Was the star of the spread

It was sweetly adorned

With a pale anadem

And a pole we had torn

From a twisted bay stem

So it looked like the horn

Of a fine unicorn

And to make it look white

We gave it a baste

Of wet flour paste

I wouldn’t have sworn

It was in the best taste

But the King laughed out loud

So it turned out alright

And we all felt quite proud.


The mood in the hall was special that night

With roaring fires and soft tallow lights;

There were dancers clacking on wooden boards

And some that wore kilts leaping high over swords;

An old balladeer that tended to shout

And jugglers throwing fire about

(That performance was shock and awe)

But according to James

The best of the games

Was not the juggler juggling flames

But four minstrels piping on shawms

To me they sounded like tortured toms

But the King was engrossed

And if he was happy as pigs in straw

Then that’s what matters the most.


Such a fine banquet has never been seen

At Blackness Castle before,

We served the king well

He was pleased I could tell

Both he and the Queen

Enjoyed our cuisine

And I hope they will visit us more.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shortlist Announcement

The Judges have now produced the shortlist of the 12 poems going forward to the final announcement of the winners at the presentation on Friday 4th November at the Lobster Pot. People are expected to

Poem N. 271

Cats & Dugs Doon Blackness brae, thon castle, a big stane ship smirred in mist, slate-grey Firth snarlin at her knees. We could’ve happed-up, gallus agin the hurlin rain, or, stayed in the motor, hypn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page