top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 186, 187

POEM TITLE

I see

POEM

I see a castle

I see the Forth

I see three bridges

As I look north.


I see the beauty

I see the calm

I see the history

I see the charm


I see myself

I see my past

I see my future

Growing old fast.


I pause for a moment

I see over the lea

Blackness on Sea

Calling to me


I see more clearly as I absorb

The world around me strikes a chord

Far in the distance I see the yellow dot

My shelter, my haven, The Lobster Pot




POEM TITLE

A better life.

POEM

I graze along the ocean bed,

10 legs, long claws, and portrayed as red.

I eat clams and crabs, and I mate for life,

just me, in the sea, with my crustacean wife.


There’s talk and tales of a magnificent town, where creatures like me never do frown.

A castle, a pub and the most wonderful views. There’s so much to see, you just can’t lose.


It really must be the most magical place,

because all my friends go, then vanish without trace.

One day I hope I can visit there too, and see this utopia, see if it’s true.


There’s just one thing, that I do not know -

What do they eat, when they all go?

So I swim and I wonder what I’ll order for tea, when I visit The Lobster Pot, in Blackness on Sea.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shortlist Announcement

The Judges have now produced the shortlist of the 12 poems going forward to the final announcement of the winners at the presentation on Friday 4th November at the Lobster Pot. People are expected to

Poem N. 271

Cats & Dugs Doon Blackness brae, thon castle, a big stane ship smirred in mist, slate-grey Firth snarlin at her knees. We could’ve happed-up, gallus agin the hurlin rain, or, stayed in the motor, hypn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page