top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 190, 191

POEM TITLE

Dreams of Marco Polo

POEM

Dreams of Marco Polo


From the Lobster Pot, Blackness on Sea

I gaze at Marco Polo


Now moored through long Covid days

The ship where I found the world


And my second love of course


Now too I’m moored like a hungry hound

Feeling lost but also found


Dreaming dreams

The horizon never found


So with kindly eye and pint in hand

I sail my life away


I’m having a ball and think I’m okay

I’m just doing it the Marco Polo way.



POEM TITLE

The Ice Breaker

POEM

The Ice Breaker


That old Russian ice breaker

Cruise ship Marco Polo

Broke the ice for me


At table two for dinner

Words I said were few


Until the sea shook our table

Her look of fear then grew


‘Don’t you worry. We’ll be OK’

These words came to me


Now years gone by

She says

‘We’ll marry when next at sea’


From the Lobster Pot

Across Blackness on Sea we gaze


Marco Polo where we’ll be wed

Still moored there through the haze


When Covid days are in the past

And with the captain as our priest


Let Marco Polo break more ice

And we’ll have our wedding feast.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shortlist Announcement

The Judges have now produced the shortlist of the 12 poems going forward to the final announcement of the winners at the presentation on Friday 4th November at the Lobster Pot. People are expected to

Poem N. 271

Cats & Dugs Doon Blackness brae, thon castle, a big stane ship smirred in mist, slate-grey Firth snarlin at her knees. We could’ve happed-up, gallus agin the hurlin rain, or, stayed in the motor, hypn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page