top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 200

POEM TITLE

Late Summer at the Lobster Pot

POEM

Late Summer at The Lobster Pot


Fresh off the tour boat and crazed

with thirst, men and women crushed


into The Lobster Pot and craved

everything the bar had to offer.


I poured and stirred and sneaked

peeks at the mixology guide


I hid where I could turn the pages

without looking too befuddled.


I drank and still drink whiskey

neat from the bottle, but men


in pastels and sleeveless women

crooned for cocktails none


of my friends would ever touch.

Still I poured with my smile affixed


and they tipped me accordingly.

The summer dusk thickened and cloyed


with sentiments I couldn’t embrace.

At closing I withdrew to the dunes


where blackness on sea poured over

the edge of the world to comfort me.


I unrolled my sleeping bag and stared

up into constellations sparked


with the colors of the drinks I’d poured

without the faintest sigh of guilt.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shortlist Announcement

The Judges have now produced the shortlist of the 12 poems going forward to the final announcement of the winners at the presentation on Friday 4th November at the Lobster Pot. People are expected to

Poem N. 271

Cats & Dugs Doon Blackness brae, thon castle, a big stane ship smirred in mist, slate-grey Firth snarlin at her knees. We could’ve happed-up, gallus agin the hurlin rain, or, stayed in the motor, hypn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page