top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 215, 216

POEM TITLE

A Place Enchanted

POEM

Morning has come and the sun is shining

On all things living and non-living

The water is crystal blue

You can see the bottom of the ocean

The tides head for the shore,

Beautiful but dangerous.

Sea gulls keep watch

Of the Blackness castle

Underneath the clear blue skies.


Children run along the sandy and rugged beach.

Leaving small little footsteps everywhere.

Flying their rainbow kites high in the sky.

They make necklaces

Out of the pulchritudinous seashells.

And build strange sandcastles.

They throw pebbles into the ocean

And watch as they dance on the water.


Somewhere far from the coast

Many boats can be seen

Although they appear like small insects

They are carrying osytermen

Who keep lowering their dredges

Down onto the ocean bed

To harvest the delicate oysters.


As the sun sets darkness covers the pier.

And the old landlord in

The Fifth of Forth village

Opens up the Lobster pot.

For the folks to

Order their pink lady

And make merry.

The lads and lasses dance and sing folk songs.

While the night is still young.

Before the old green mermaid returns.




POEM TITLE

The Old Tale

POEM

It was there in the Lobster pot that we first me.

And I remember thinking how can the devil

Have such beautiful eyes an angel

Your eyes were this ocean blue

I would drown in them

You stood there like a Greek god

Ready to work out his magic


When you looked at me

I felt like a beautiful mistake

A faithless servant

A dull and empty street

A stranger in a foreign land

A robbery gone wrong


Wondering

Why I was dancing with devil

Why I was smiling at him

Why I was eating from the forbidden tree

But I could not resist entering your secret chambers

I could not resist touching your face

Combing through your big black beard

And feel the beating of your heart


When the clock struck midnight

I knew it was time for you and me to go

To leave your band of misfits

To leave your band of outlaws

Those hoodlums and rumdums

Before you and them could paint the town red

Before you could wet your whistle one more time


You led me down to the long and sandy beach

With one arm around my waist

And the other in my hair

And I remember thinking

I have to keep this man

You laid us a blanket

On the cold and rocky shore


Where we laid half awake and naked

With my head on your chest

Watching the midnight sun

Counting shooting stars

And laughing at your lame jokes


And then morning came

And you were gone

Just like that

Just like the midnight storm

Just like the fish pot princes

Leaving me with faint memories of you


Memories that eat me up

Memories I cannot erase

Memories I cannot burn

Memories I cannot share


Nowadays I search for you everywhere

Even at the old pier

Even at the Blackness castle

But you are a rare gem

A black diamond

I do not see you

I do not hear you

I do not smell you

You are just gone

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shortlist Announcement

The Judges have now produced the shortlist of the 12 poems going forward to the final announcement of the winners at the presentation on Friday 4th November at the Lobster Pot. People are expected to

Poem N. 271

Cats & Dugs Doon Blackness brae, thon castle, a big stane ship smirred in mist, slate-grey Firth snarlin at her knees. We could’ve happed-up, gallus agin the hurlin rain, or, stayed in the motor, hypn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page