top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 219

POEM TITLE

Alternate Universe where my mother feeds me Oysters

POEM

in the wakefulness of my hunger for luminescence

i rifle through cities for lighthouses


forgetting that somewhere beyond the blackness on sea

i could be seen as the breath of a dragon


racing through walls of shuttered rooms. my body—

an unfinished arc of light, stretching to drown darkness


out of a nightsky. in an alternate universe

my mother is still alive, filling my mouth with oysters at the lobster pot


that burst open in my throat like star shells

i pretend i’m carrying their light inside me.


i tell everyone they’ve swollen into clusters of asteroids

& soon i’ll morph into a shooting star


jetting towards the doors of the lobster pot

with the tenderness of the hands of an archeologist


digging the ground for relics. my desire is to wake with

a robe of halo floating down my shoulders.


i want to exhale clouds of starburst when i breathe.

it happens that sometimes i am the scab of an exit wound


learning how to glow in the dark. other times

a shadow crawling its way back towards sunlight.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Shortlist Announcement

The Judges have now produced the shortlist of the 12 poems going forward to the final announcement of the winners at the presentation on Friday 4th November at the Lobster Pot. People are expected to

Poem N. 271

Cats & Dugs Doon Blackness brae, thon castle, a big stane ship smirred in mist, slate-grey Firth snarlin at her knees. We could’ve happed-up, gallus agin the hurlin rain, or, stayed in the motor, hypn

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page