top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 226

Updated: Sep 17, 2022

POEM TITLE

Sea-larking

POEM

Sea-Larking


Fishing the bay of blackness on sea, I snagged a thing in my net. The waves parted in shame.

Bare as a tale, I imagined her mine. Carried her from the sea’s harm. Two moon eyes stared.


A minute of breaths. She gave up that grey mouth. Woman enough for me. We lay near as foxes.

She’d never smelt a bed. Twitched to sleep. The seal-coat took time to burn. Lugged her


to church come dawn. Twine for the rings. Vicar dabbed that heathen nose, said she had

no soul to speak of, but a pearl’s salt skin. Soon, she waddled loaf-bellied. Loved me in-and-out.


Still, she’d not touch fish, howled when I showed her the lobster pot. Clapping if seals flashed

on the telly. When leaving, I locked the door by design. The cottage neater on my return.


A brief labour. She made no sound. Out swam baby. It barked with an animal’s tongue.

Then, at Epiphany, she asked soft about that old skin of hers. An ear of questions.


Silence sat between the plates at tea. Nothing that I knew of pleased. When she dropped

the child into the sea, I combed the shore. Hours sinking. What was left? Policemen pelting


questions. We wore black clothes and sad expressions. The curtains started sniffing,

fishwives baring cotton claws, their men cock-eyed. I shaved her brazen hair. The next one


born in spring. A little lad with whiskers. They spoke in clicks. No language I’d heard of.

Stopped when I walked in. Worship the wife, she spoils like butter. Enough. Poured salt


in the bath. We crouched, her in the water, me on the edge. She’d not bend. I cleaned

my baithooks. On the boat, I stir the ocean with the ashes. Then throw my net out again.POEM TITLE

Sea-larking

POEM

Sea-Larking


Fishing the bay of blackness on sea, I snagged a thing in my net. The waves parted in shame.

Bare as a tale, I imagined her mine. Carried her from the sea’s harm. Two moon eyes stared.


A minute of breaths. She gave up that grey mouth. Woman enough for me. We lay near as foxes.

She’d never smelt a bed. Twitched to sleep. The seal-coat took time to burn. Lugged her


to church come dawn. Twine for the rings. Vicar dabbed that heathen nose, said she had

no soul to speak of, but a pearl’s salt skin. Soon, she waddled loaf-bellied. Loved me in-and-out.


Still, she’d not touch fish, howled when I showed her the lobster pot. Clapping if seals flashed

on the telly. When leaving, I locked the door by design. The cottage neater on my return.


A brief labour. She made no sound. Out swam baby. It barked with an animal’s tongue.

Then, at Epiphany, she asked soft about that old skin of hers. An ear of questions.


Silence sat between the plates at tea. Nothing that I knew of pleased. When she dropped

the child into the sea, I combed the shore. Hours sinking. What was left? Policemen pelting


questions. We wore black clothes and sad expressions. The curtains started sniffing,

fishwives baring cotton claws, their men cock-eyed. I shaved her brazen hair. The next one


born in spring. A little lad with whiskers. They spoke in clicks. No language I’d heard of.

Stopped when I walked in. Worship the wife, she spoils like butter. Enough. Poured salt


in the bath. We crouched, her in the water, me on the edge. She’d not bend. I cleaned

my baithooks. On the boat, I stir the ocean with the ashes. Then throw my net out again

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Poem No. 269A

POEM TITLE The Painting POEM The outline is a ship, stuck solid in the shores, the bridges frame its stature, and are glistening in the storm. We turn away and leave them and notice the orange hue, it

Poem no. 269

POEM TITLE From Forth the Village POEM From Forth the Village The blackness of the sea stretches out before us Under the star studded sky. At dawn tomorrow, from forth the village, we sail with the tu

Poem no. 268

POEM TITLE ‘Frae mony years ahent the strife POEM ‘Frae mony years ahent the strife (Reader - pray gie the scriever historic license tae taigle by a puckle years the daiths o’ Mary an’ her hauf-brithe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page