top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 240, 241

POEM TITLE

Winged Victory

POEM

I found a seabird splayed out on the sand

strangling in a mess of fishing line


Why should I have to walk (I thought)

and strapped its wings around my waist


They fluttered, flapped, fell limp, flapped again

heaved me high above Blackness on Sea


I crowned myself Princess of Possibility

gliding around with nothing in this world to fear


Then down below I spied a thrashing mass of trash

The wings stopped dead, upended, plunged!


I hit the water and the gyre of rubbish gulped me down

then spat me back to let the wings break free


I was stretched out on the sea

strangling in a mess of plastic dreck


What’s happened to my legs (I cried)

and tried to grab hold of a passing log


A mock of gulls joined with the chortling wings

their raucous chorus rising loud and clear


Snatcher

Never forget who wears the plumage here

I




POEM TITLE

The Conchology of Blackness on Sea

POEM

The Conchology of Blackness on Sea


Shell

It can keep a nervous nature safe,

blunt the edge of a steel knife

but is perforated by creatures

as soft as the human tongue.


Cockles

dig holes in the sand

with their natural spades.

They’re adept at jumping and

do anything to avoid conflict.


Towers

false and true. Spiral around until

they come to their pinprick points.

Take care, they inveigle their way into

all environments.


Limpets

stick to whatever provides a firm

hold. They may sink into a depression

to protect their vulnerable edges.

It is difficult to detach them from their vacuum.


Unique Specimens

Raise a glass to them

in The Lobster Pot.

They are your most cherished collectibles.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Poem No. 269A

POEM TITLE The Painting POEM The outline is a ship, stuck solid in the shores, the bridges frame its stature, and are glistening in the storm. We turn away and leave them and notice the orange hue, it

Poem no. 269

POEM TITLE From Forth the Village POEM From Forth the Village The blackness of the sea stretches out before us Under the star studded sky. At dawn tomorrow, from forth the village, we sail with the tu

Poem no. 268

POEM TITLE ‘Frae mony years ahent the strife POEM ‘Frae mony years ahent the strife (Reader - pray gie the scriever historic license tae taigle by a puckle years the daiths o’ Mary an’ her hauf-brithe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page