top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 242

POEM TITLE

Reverse Comfort

POEM

Should I seek solace in darkness on the water,

A well-named settlement with a century of souls

Bides its time on the Firth of Forth -

‘Blackness on Sea’, not a painting title, no,

But a pier-and-castle hamlet;

And if Burns holed up here, well,

It’s surely good enough for me, or for anyone.


“The world is your oyster”, my parents said to me.

And though I found that not to be true, not in my case anyway,

The phrase at least lent reverse comfort

In times when I’ve retreated, sought sanctuary

In smallness, insignificance and shadow.

The oyster, I told myself, is my world,

And what’s more, I’ll wear an armour, crustacean-like,

Around my little heart that beats too strong,


And so the Lobster Pot,

Cheerful in yellow and blue like childhood sun and sea,

Seems apt for a salty licking of grown-up wounds

As the blackness on the sea rises (for it will)

And the ghosts of the oysters crumble

Into new sand for brave new shores.


Then I will break open my barnacled basket,

Being one with the tide and the depths,

Refreshed from my rest at the end of the world,

Dangling my legs off the end of the pier,

Wearing my bones on the outside

And my heart, a pearl, within.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Poem No. 269A

POEM TITLE The Painting POEM The outline is a ship, stuck solid in the shores, the bridges frame its stature, and are glistening in the storm. We turn away and leave them and notice the orange hue, it

Poem no. 269

POEM TITLE From Forth the Village POEM From Forth the Village The blackness of the sea stretches out before us Under the star studded sky. At dawn tomorrow, from forth the village, we sail with the tu

Poem no. 268

POEM TITLE ‘Frae mony years ahent the strife POEM ‘Frae mony years ahent the strife (Reader - pray gie the scriever historic license tae taigle by a puckle years the daiths o’ Mary an’ her hauf-brithe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page