top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 248

POEM TITLE

Beyond Belief

POEM

Was upon a gloomy night

Whilst i was having a pint

Was told a tale beyond belief

Me eyes were bulging

me mouth dropped open

me ears must be lying to me

This old sailor the age of 103

Said of all the things in the 7 seas

All 7 of them he had seen

That greatest darkness on sea

Was right here at the lobster pot

“Surrounding you and me”

I felt a chill run up me spine

I swear with me own two eyes

It was still hard to believe

The way he laughed and disappeared

Will always haunt in my dreams

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Poem No. 269A

POEM TITLE The Painting POEM The outline is a ship, stuck solid in the shores, the bridges frame its stature, and are glistening in the storm. We turn away and leave them and notice the orange hue, it

Poem no. 269

POEM TITLE From Forth the Village POEM From Forth the Village The blackness of the sea stretches out before us Under the star studded sky. At dawn tomorrow, from forth the village, we sail with the tu

Poem no. 268

POEM TITLE ‘Frae mony years ahent the strife POEM ‘Frae mony years ahent the strife (Reader - pray gie the scriever historic license tae taigle by a puckle years the daiths o’ Mary an’ her hauf-brithe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page