top of page
Search
  • blacknessonseapoet

Poem no. 250

POEM TITLE

I KNOW A PLACE

POEM

I know a world to the north

Where the oceans knock

I know a place by the sea

Somewhere around the west

A place with a handful of men

A place on whose shores

The sea is gentle

Upon which the sun is graceful

I know a place

A place ears have not heard

Eyes have not seen

Foot have not trod

Mind has not discerned

I know a place

A place with a pub for lobsters

I won't speak for them

But everything therein

Goes down as smooth as oil

As fine as honey

I know a place

A place on whose shores

The only ship that never sailed

Never kissed the surface harbor

I know a place

A place where light and dark

Cohabit beautifully

I know a place

A place called Blackness

And it's on the sea

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Poem No. 269A

POEM TITLE The Painting POEM The outline is a ship, stuck solid in the shores, the bridges frame its stature, and are glistening in the storm. We turn away and leave them and notice the orange hue, it

Poem no. 269

POEM TITLE From Forth the Village POEM From Forth the Village The blackness of the sea stretches out before us Under the star studded sky. At dawn tomorrow, from forth the village, we sail with the tu

Poem no. 268

POEM TITLE ‘Frae mony years ahent the strife POEM ‘Frae mony years ahent the strife (Reader - pray gie the scriever historic license tae taigle by a puckle years the daiths o’ Mary an’ her hauf-brithe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page